Story hour

Last week I placed the order for fancy new beds for the boy and girl. For the boy there is desk, wardrobe and draws under a high sleeper with a wood finish and the girl has wardrobe, desk, draws and a pull out guest bed under her high sleeper with a shiny red and black finish, very grown up for the up and coming tween. The evening I planed to order them a notice was on the website that orders for delivery before Christmas must be made before 9pm that evening.

No way on earth can I imagine trying to deal with Christmas and taking down and somehow disposing of not just the old beds but the old draws and wardrobe and neither do I have space to store the new beds even in the flat pack state, add to that the people who I plan to ask for help (who don’t yet know that I plan to ask them… some may now!) are not likely to want to fill their pre-christmas days with such a task.

Quite relieved I had seen this notice I closed down the website and went back the following morning when the deadline had safely been and gone. I made the order, paled at the cost, remembered that the beds are a gift from family so went back to excitement for the January delivery window.

I emailed the company shortly after I placed my order to confirm that the girl was having the snazzy red and black finish as the conformation email was a little unclear and made a comment that I would not be wanting the beds before January and I bet that made a change for them at this time of year.

And on I went until this morning when I received a text message from somebody from the bed company saying they where planning on delivering my order tomorrow and would that me okay? I shot the most informal of texts back that simply wailed ‘But I wasn’t expecting them until January!!!’. I am utterly ashamed I used multiple explanation marks but really I was very shocked and at that point verging on panic trying to think where on earth I could store all those flat pack boxes along with the mattresses but really there is no excuse for excessive punctuation.

I got a reply saying they would speak to their manager and feeling a little more secure that I would not arrive home tomorrow (as I wouldn’t even be home to accept the delivery with only a days notice) with enough boxes to start my own Ikea store stacked on the front path I got on with the day.

Later on another text arrived asking if I wanted the beds tomorrow or not. I realised that my initial response while heavy on exclamation had been rather light on explanation. I think my reply was probably rather short and rude but given the situation I don’t think it was uncalled for, it probably doesn’t help that text message doesn’t really feel like the best way to communicate with clients especially if there seems to be a problem. I could just be a dinosaur in that I am not completely sure. I simply explained what I have here that missing the Christmas deadline had been an intentional act. I can’t really complain too much given that they have probably had many people order just after the deadline and then beg them for a pre christmas delivery. They probably thought they where being helpful although that does kind of fall apart given I also told them by email I was after a January delivery. I also need to keep in mind they are running a business and once items are sold they want them out of their warehouse to make room for more product to sell. It just goes to show companies can’t win. This is a fairly small company and I chose them partly because of that, they are in the UK, they make the beds in the UK and they are not a huge corporate entity. They also make beds I really like as did the boy and girl. You can’t knock a company too hard for attempting to get a product you have already paid for to you as quickly as possible. You just can’t please some people!

So there you are, boring story of the week. I am not really in a cheery or funny frame of mind just now so writing in my normal style just isn’t working. It has been a dreadfully sad 10 days or so. The husband of the lady I mentioned in an earlier post died Saturday before last after having been diagnosed with cancer a matter of weeks ago. I will be attending his service on Friday. Then on Sunday just gone the much loved husband of another friend, a friend who may at times read this blog, passed away a little over a year since his diagnosis. He will be hugely missed and leave a massive hole within the village. Both deaths together leave a chasm.

My thoughts are with both families, I wish there was something I could do that could help. To both I offer my ear to listen for as long as they need even if that is always. I know from the losses in my own life that an ear to listen, often without saying a word, is one of the best and only things that can be offered.

Leave a Reply

